Last 1931 model Morris Minor

This thread is for General Discussion, and Forum Q and A.

Moderators: Ian Grace, Will Grace

NuttyNige

Last 1931 model Morris Minor

Post by NuttyNige »

Hello Folks
With enormous help and encouragement from our Ian Grace I've just bought the last scuttle-tank Minor, a saloon apparently coming off the production line on 17th July 1931 and being first registered on the 31st of that month in West Yorkshire. It's in a bit of a state and hasn't been used for about fifty years. [pictures to follow] However, the engine sits in the chassis with an exhaust and radiator plumbed in so I may run it to assess the state of the power unit. I've applied for a British Motor Heritage build certificate and look forward to acquiring details of such as the original colour. I was a mechanic in younger days and look forward to doing all of that kind of work plus the wiring, but will require many smaller parts and help with the body repairs and all trimming. The intention is to restore the car to its original spec. due to the historical significance of this one.
Incidentally, it seems to be the saloon equivalent of the "£100" two-seater, with basic trim and having originally had the brass radiator shell painted black? It's now bare brass. Although it is fitted with sidelamps I suspect these would have been incorporated in the [black] headlamps originally? I have inferred from reading up and looking at pictures that these models were all "Naval Grey" but with a switch to a blue in June 1931. [The Complete Morris Minor book by Harry Edwards] Any comments please? Nigel Stennett-Cox
Ian Grace
Site Admin

Re: Last 1931 model Morris Minor

Post by Ian Grace »

Congratulations Nige!

Your Heritage Certificate will be generated from the data recorded in the production 'Progress Books' that BMH hold at Gaydon.