LCES Welsh

This thread is for discussing past and future events.

Moderators: Ian Grace, Will Grace

ColinWLee

LCES Welsh

Post by ColinWLee »

I have entered the VSCC Welsh Light Car and Edwardian Section this year again. It's nice to see a relatively strong contingent of OHC minors (7 by my count).
The number of Austin Seven's of various types made me do a double take though :shock:
There are about 40 entered this year and, whilst they are perfectly servicable vehicles, I cannot for the life of me understand why All types (even custom jobs known as "specials") are eligible for membership of the VSCC whilst side valve Minors are not. :?
I am relatively new to the scene, and I understand there has been fierce debate on the issue before my time, I would love to know the genuine / logical reasoning behind that decision.
Perhaps I will be less "anti A7" if I knew. Maybe not... :wink:
Either way, we have seven better than average chances of demonstrating the superiority of MMs over A7s once again in Wales.
See you there :D
Ian Grace
Site Admin

Re: LCES Welsh

Post by Ian Grace »

Peter McFadyen images of the weekend. There were FIFTY Austin 7's entered - apparently it looked like an Austin 7 rally. :shock:

http://www.petermcfadyen.co.uk/#/galler ... our11-102/
ColinWLee

Post by ColinWLee »

It was a very good weekend. Well organised as usual and great fun. The weather was kind although it became bitterly cold in the mist at the tops of the hills.

Regarding the numbers of A7's. I made a gentle quip to an aquaintance that owns an A7, along the lines of "the Austin Seven owners club didn't seem to have as many guests this year" :lol: and was duly sent to Coventry for a while. I discovered that was a sensitive subject. Later on I overheard an A7 owner apologising to someone that he had brought an A7.

Shame really because there were a few lovely and rare examples of A7 which were effectively drowned by the masses.